Hazel Dell Township

From the 1882 & 1907 Pottawattamie County Histories

Hazel Dell township is a full congressional township which lies mostly on high rolling upland, sloping easterly toward Mosquito and westerly towards Pigeon creeks. It is bounded on the north by Boomer township, south by Garner, east by Norwalk, and west by Crescent township.

Most of the early settlers were Mormons, but the larger part went on with the great movement to Utah. Nearly all the early history of this township is identical with that of Crescent. Hazel Dell township has become famous as being the birthplace of Indian Creek, which is probably the most active stream of its size on earth. It drains twenty square miles as it wanders throughout the valley.

Early surnames sprinkled over the township include: Valliers, Nixons, Greggs, Coopers, Kings, Barretts, Rev. Cooper, O’Brien, Halls, Bouldens, Triplets, Springers, Osborne, McGruders, Frosts, Jenkins, and many more.

Early township officers: J. P. Boulden and James Osborn, trustees; Joseph Butler, Reuben Dunkle; Charles Murphy, clerk; Morris Morrison and J. P. Boulden, justices of the peace; Alexander Johnson and Andrew O’Donnell, constables.

In 1907, the officials were: J. M. Underwood, Eugene Steepfell and F. B. Chambers, township trustees and M. W. Davis, clerk; A. F. Mammen and A. K. Chamber, justices of the peace; J. O. Chambers, constable and H. R. Smith, assessor.


  • Settlers: J. P. Boulden, James Osborn, Benjamin, and W. H. McGinnis,
    Joseph Butler, Reuben Dunkle, Charles Murphy, Morris Morrison, Alexander Johnson, Andrew O’Donnell, Riley Hough (1848), A. Hall, Jacob Hansen, and John Roberts
  • School: a log one built by the Mormons
  • Railroads: Rock Island and Milwaukee which runs parallel to the village of Weston.
Scroll to Top