Boomer Township

From the 1882 & 1907 Pottawattamie County Histories

Boomer township was established from Rockford township on June 8, 1858. It is a full congressional township, being bounded on the north by Harrison county, east by Neola, south by Hazel Dell, and west by Rockford townships.

The first election under the new organization was held on the 12th of October, 1859, at the house of Samuel Bateman, and township officers were chosen as follows: Samuel Diggle, Wm. Fouts and Joseph Mohat, as trustees; Henry Gittings, clerk, and Samuel Bateman, Sr., and Joseph Bardsley, justices of the peace. There is no record of constables having been elected.


  • Settlers: 1847 –Lee Bybee, a Mormon, who with a number of families established a camp and built cabins as was their custom during their temporary sojourn while enroute from Nauvoo (Illinois) to Salt Lake City (Utah).
  • Early Settlers: William McKeown, Isaac M. Sigler, George Drake, Henry Gittings, Elizabeth Mackland, Thomas Fench, L. S. Axtell, Peter Peterson, B. Smith, Samuel Bateman, Samuel Diggle, William Fouts, Joseph Mohat, Henry Gittings, Joseph Bardsley, and Adam Heageny
  • Marriage: 1848 — a double one –William McKeown & Eliza Jane Hall, and in the other, Ezekiel Cheeny & Lucy Hardy.
  • Birth: Unknown
  • Death: Unknown
  • Highway: Laid out by Edward Latham in 1853 and known as the Harris Grove and Council Bluffs road.
  • Bridge: 1853 — a wooden bridge across the North Pigeon.
  • Mill: A fanning mill owned by Robert Kent.
  • School: 1847 — in Bybee’s Camp and the first teacher was J. L. Deforest.
Scroll to Top