Pleasant Township

From the 1882 and 1907 Pottawattamie County Histories

Pleasant township was organized by an order made April 7, 1873, making it a new civil township of thirty-six congressional sections. It is bounded on the north by Shelby County, on the east by Knox township, on the south by James Township, and on the west by Minden township.

Two streams of water flow through the township, one called the Big Silver, and the second called Middle Silver. Although it has no town within its borders, it has always had easy communication with its neighboring communities of Minden, Shelby or Avoca, and until 1903, did not even boast of a railroad.

Early township officials serving the area in 1882 were: S. H. Buckley, C. H. Brown and T. T. Larkin, trustees; S. B. Frum, clerk; William Buckley and F. N. Keeney, justices of the peace; D. Gross and A. M. Scott, constables; William A. Clark, assessor, and Hiram Stewart, road supervisor, and in 1907 were: George Haas, C. V. Rock and Henry Flemming, trustees; C. P. Wasser, clerk; Adolph Baustain and J. L. Buckley, justices of the peace; E. A. Bergman, assessor, and W. W. Frum, constable.


  • Settlers: 1869: A. M. Scott, P. S. McCandless
    1872 — Jacob and Franz Haas, Joseph Frum, T. Goodwater
  • Road: Ballard State Road and a north to south road laid out in 1870 in the west part of the township, and called the A. C. Bennett road, and another laid out from east to west named the Hiram Stewart.
  • School: built in 1871 and known as the Frum school.
  • Teacher: Alonzo Bartnett
  • Churches: German Evangelical Association organized and presided over by Rev. Aaron Bassart who was succeeded by Wilhelm Jones and then Flegler Aschenbrenner.
Scroll to Top