Layton Township

From the 1882 & 1907 Pottawattamie County Histories

Layton township was established June 7, 1873, and originally comprised Lincoln Township. It consists of township 76, Range 38, and township 77, Range 38, and covers a full congressional district of 36 sections. Previous to 1873, the territory embraced in Layton township was part of Knox township. It is bounded on the north by Shelby Co., south by Lincoln township, west by Knox township and east by Cass County. It has only one stream of any importance, the Walnut Creek, and hosts only one major town of any significance, Walnut, which received its charter in October 1877.

The township officers in 1907 were: trustees, C. W. Craney, Wm. H. Jurgenson, and Frank Hanna; clerk, F. C. Hector; assessor, John Schmidt; justices, E. C. Thompson and J. B. Johannsen.


  • Settlers: E. B. Hinckley and family, Oscar Lodge, Leander Lodge, and Henry Orcutt
  • Railroad: Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad Company
  • Land Office: in a little cabin erected by Mr. Hinckley
  • Road: Old territorial road almost center in the township and running east to west.
  • Bridges: Three wooden bridges in 1882 — all spanning the Walnut Creek, and one railroad bridge
Scroll to Top